Something Awesome: Gregory L.Reece’s Muliversity Reviews

Uncategorized

This is a strange one, pointing out the work of another reviewer, but I’ve been encouraged recently to start including anything that I love and that others will love in turn. So here goes…

While I’ve found myself following more and more series in single issues this year, I’m still something of a ‘trade waiter” when it comes to the big two, Marvel and DC. I do pick up a few recent releases in singles that I simply can’t wait on and that I think need a little extra support to keep the sales numbers up, I prefer to wait and get shelf worthy trades and binge read. Most of the single issues I pick up month to month now tend to be from Image and Boom, great comics but also gorgeous physical items. Between the great quality paper, printing and awesome design they just feel special.

The sheer, ridiculous amount of ads and the cost, especially with DC comics really puts me off and while I recognise that adverts as perhaps a necessary evil, one every couple of pages usually kills the flow of a story for me cold stone dead. This has meant that I’ve missed out a few brilliant series lately that it’s killing me waiting for the trades. For example, Grant Morrison’s universe hopping magnum opus, Multiversity.

This time it’s not just because I’m a huge, quote him at least twice a day, Morrison fan but because of a series of spectacular review from Gregory L. Reece on Popmatters. I’ve had a few conversations about the concept of the review as an art form, and it’s something that really interests me and effects me on a day to day basis.While I’m not calling anything I’ve written ‘art’, I always strive to put a little something extra into anything I’m writing about, making it an enjoyable piece in itself. I find too many sites to be really slight, or just regurgitate press releases without adding any of their own opinions or thoughts.

Reece really fits into this category. Drawing upon his own personal experiences with as much work as the comics he covers, each of his reviews is a beautiful pieces of work in themselves, such as his deeply moving review of the first issue or his dissection of the dissection in Pax Americana.

This is what comics journalism should be like.

tumblr_nft4v9FN3n1tdjyqgo1_1280

Multiversity: Pax Americana #1

Multiversity: The Multiversity #1

Multiversity: The Multiversity The Just #1

Multiversity: The Society of Super-Heroes #1

Multiversity: Ultra Comics #1′ – Don’t Read This Comic

Leave a Reply

